Baked Chicken Nuggets

image

These are cracking, even if I do say so myself!

Crispy baked gluten free nuggets at their best, happily munched on by the boys for years with no one realising that they are gluten free.

Gluten free bread is very expensive here so I tend to buy up big when it is on special! Due to the cost, I don’t bother removing crusts and in fact the nuggets in the photo used GF bread rolls, crusts and all!

Leftovers freeze well or the boys get them in their lunch boxes as a wee treat.

Serves 8.

Ingredients

1.2kg chicken breast, boned and skin off

3 eggs, beaten

240g gluten free breadcrumbs

225g freshly grated Parmesan

freshly ground pepper

a little salt

3 tablespoons mixed herbs

Method

Preheat the oven to 180degrees Centigrade.

Line four baking sheets with baking parchment.

Combine the breadcrumbs, parmesan, pepper, salt and herbs in a large bowl.

Beat the eggs in another bowl.

Slice the chicken into thin, 0.5cm thickness pieces and then depending on the size of the breasts, half the slices, especially if your cooking for younger children, less waste!

Using only one hand, because you know the phone will ring if you get both hands dirty, take a piece of chicken, dip into the egg and then coat with the breadcrumb mix.

Place on the prepared baking sheet and repeat with the remaining chicken.

Bake for 15 minutes and then turn and bake for a further 5-8 minutes until the coating is crispy.

25 thoughts on “Baked Chicken Nuggets”

  1. I make my own fresh chicken breast nuggets all the time, but not gluten free. I cut the breast in about 5 pieces lengthwise and then cut the “tenders” or strips in small pieces. My husband recently asked me to cut the breast in thin slices like a loaf of bread because he like them flatter. The I have a medium sized bowl with 2 beaten aggs and about 1/2 cup milk all beaten together and I just keep placing the nuggest in that as I cut them.

    1. Then as the oven preheats at 400 degrees I coat the chicken with regular Italian seasoned bread crumbs which I place on a plate until I’m ready to place the nuggets on a oiled jelly roll pan (Cookie sheet with sides). Then I bake them for 20 mins. I do add Parmesan cheese from time to time.

      1. It’s a shame that GF options are so pricey…because I imagine playing around with different types of flours would do neat things for the flavour/crispness of these nuggets!

  2. This looks delicious! There are a number of recipes doing the rounds here in South Africa using desiccated coconut for crumbing.. I wonder if this would work for this recipe as an alternative to GF bread. I’ll give it a go and let you know. Thank you for the inspiration πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

