Cherry and Almond Muffins

image

A lunch box favourite with the boys and a great way to use up leftover jam!

I like to add ground almonds to this muffin recipe as I think that they go so well with cherries and make the muffins more filling for hungry school boys.

A word of warning about the sour cherries, do check for pips! The first one that I pulled out of the jar and ate had a pip still, not good for my teeth!!!

Makes 12.

Ingredients

175g plain flour

50g ground almonds

2 teaspoons baking powder

80g caster sugar

75g butter, melted

1 egg, beaten

130g yogurt

130mls milk

170g cherry conserve

24 sour cherries in syrup, dried on kitchen towel

Method

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees Centigrade. Line a twelve hole muffin tin.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, ground almonds, baking powder and sugar.

In a jug, combine the cooled butter, egg, yogurt and milk.

Add the wet to the dry ingredients gently without over mixing.

Spoon the conserve in and marble gently through the muffin batter.

Spoon into the lined cases and top each muffin with two cherries.

Bake in the oven for 25-30mins.

17 thoughts on “Cherry and Almond Muffins”

  1. I love the flavour of cherry and almond! however, do you think it would work with strawberry jam instead as I’ve got loads left over from making a batch earlier this summer?
    Also I’d like to thank you for stopping by my blog, I appreciate it. I’m glad I found your blog as well, looks very interesting!

Leave a Reply

