Marmite Chicken

image

No that’s not a typo, I do mean marmite! And only four ingredients.

The boys love Nigella Lawson’s recipe for marmite pasta so we thought we could maybe adapt it to make a chicken seasoning.

The reason for using marmite instead of vegemite is that it is gluten free, Β for those of you who don’t know, marmite is from the UK and vegemite is an Australian staple. Feel free to show your allegiance to which ever you prefer.

Serves 6.

Ingredients

80g butter, melted

2 tablespoons marmite

1.5kg chicken pieces, I use wings and thighs, bone in and skin on

freshly ground pepper

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Centigrade. Line two baking trays with baking parchment.

Melt the butter, I use the microwave, and add the marmite, mix well.

Brush each piece of chicken with the marinade and place on the prepared baking sheets, skin side up.

Grind over a good dose of pepper and pop in the oven.

Bake for 45-50mims, basting regularly.

29 thoughts on “Marmite Chicken”

    1. Oops, sorry geekkat, I should have explained a little better! They are both a salty yeast extract paste that goes very well on toast! Vegemite is similar, slightly thicker and not gluten free. Hope that helps? πŸ™‚ Ros

  1. Nice blog. This is a fantastic recipe. Using marmite caught my eye. What a great idea! Scrumptious! I am very pleased that I found your blog. I will be sure to check back for more great recipes! Bon appetite!

  2. I have to try this — but marmite is soooooo expensive in the US. Most people here do not like it, but I do, having lived in the UK. This recipe opens up all sorts of possibilities that I know I will like — wonder if I can get anyone else here to eat it though…..

Leave a Reply

