Tarragon Chicken

image

This used up the last of the French tarragon in my garden until it reappears in spring.

I served this with my garlicky broad bean and haloumi salad, a lovely light but filling combination.

Although this chicken was cooked in the Β oven it is lovely cooked on the barbecue too.

Serves 4-6.

Ingredients

1 x 1.8kg whole chicken, jointed into 10 pieces

2 garlic cloves, crushed

A good handful of fresh tarragon, leaves picked and chopped roughly

60mls olive oil

Salt and pepper

Method

Combine the chicken, garlic, tarragon, oil, salt and pepper in a large bowl.

Set aside for 4-6 hours.

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Centigrade and line a baking tray with baking parchment.

Take the chicken and lay it out, skin side up on the prepared tin.

Bake in the oven for 40-45mins, basting regularly until cooked through and golden.

Set aside to rest before serving.

35 thoughts on “Tarragon Chicken”

    1. Hi Insanely Roy – Piece of Cerebrum, the tarragon adds a lovely aniseed flavour, I grow it easily in a pot in the garden, although in the heat of summer, 40 plus days, it does struggle a bit! πŸ™‚ Ros

  1. Hello! Could you estimate how much tarragon you used? I ask because I have a hole bunch of dry tarragon, and I want to make sure I convert my fresh:dry ratio properly. Thanks!

  2. Looks very delish! I guess great minds think alike because last week-end I did some drumsticks in tarragon sauce. Oh, I love tarragon! Thanks for sharing. And, thanks for visiting my blog. It’s always great seeing you.
    Cheers!

  3. Cooking the whole chicken is a very efficient use of meat. I have never had chicken with tarragon. Will surely try it when I have a large party around.

  4. Your photo of the chicken is beautiful. I’m going to try this recipe this weekend!

    I’ve been wondering what to do with all the tarragon in my garden because I don’t want to dry it. Now I have a fun recipe to try. Yay!

Leave a Reply

