Creamy Coconut Rice Pudding

image

There is something so comforting about rice pudding!

To make a change I have started using frozen fresh coconut which adds a lovely texture to the pudding, and of course, lots of flavour.

I buy my frozen grated coconut from my local Asian store, a great place to stock up on coconut milk too as well as all my usual spices!

Serves 8, leftovers are yummy hot or cold and work week for in the boys lunch boxes too.

Ingredients

150g arborio rice

90g caster sugar

70g frozen fresh grated coconut

270mls tin coconut milk

1.7litres full cream milk

50g butter, diced

Method

Preheat the oven to 150 degrees Centigrade.

Grease a large oven proof dish with at least a 3litre capacity.

Weigh the rice, sugar, coconut and milk Β into the dish.

Top with the cubed butter.

Bake in the oven for 90 mins, stirring every 20-30mins, don’t stir for the final 30mins.

19 thoughts on “Creamy Coconut Rice Pudding”

  1. My mum used to bake rice pudding like this. She didn’t use coconut of course and if memory serves, she used evaporated milk. I can still see the brown enameled tin she used exclusively for the rice pudding and I can smell the nutmeg she grated on top. Thanks for the great memories, Ros πŸ˜€
    It’s winter in AU right now but here in the Bay Area we are enjoying a bit of a heatwave. When the weather cools down I’ll turn on the oven and make this.

    Jock

      1. Thanks, Ros. That looks familiar πŸ˜€ I never much liked the brown skin that formed on the rice but my sisters used to fight over it. I would trade my skin for a wee spoonful of their rice.

Leave a Reply

