Baked Eggs in Mushrooms With Parmesan

image

These make a lovely alternative for breakfast, lunch or a light supper.ย  Add a salad to make them go a little further.

When choosing mushrooms for this you need a very large mushroom that is thick and it’s sides are intact, any cracks and your egg will disappear through them!

I cooked these mushrooms in the oven but they will happily cook on a BBQ flat plate at a medium heat so you don’t burn the base.

Serves 2-4.

Ingredients

4 large portobello mushrooms

4 eggs

4 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, finely grated

4 tablespoons fresh gluten free breadcrumbs

1 tablespoon freshly chopped parsley

Salt and pepper

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Centigrade.

Take a mushroom, remove the stalk and scoop out a little of the flesh, making enough space for the cracked egg.

Repeat with the remaining mushrooms and place on a baking sheet.

Crack an egg into each mushroom.

Combine the Parmesan, breadcrumbs, parsley, salt and pepper in a bowl.

Sprinkle the cheese crumbs over each egg.

Bake in the oven for 15-20 mins, I like to bake them until the white is cooked but the yolk is still a little runny.

48 thoughts on “Baked Eggs in Mushrooms With Parmesan”

    1. Thanks Sarah, our chooks keep us well in eggs so I’m always looking for a way to use them up, unfortunately I can’t persuade my boys to eat mushrooms like this so it’s a bit of an adults only breakfast! Hope you enjoy it as much as we do ๐Ÿ™‚ Ros

  1. I absolutely love all things egg and all things mushroom. This just blew my head off my shoulders. I know what I’m making myself for my father’s day breakfast!

Leave a Reply

