Cheesy Puffs

image

These are wonderful!

Delicate crispness on the outside and a slight goo to the inside, think Yorkshire pudding crossed with a cheese scone! Lovely with a bowl of soup but to be honest they are perfect straight out of the oven.

Gluten free and mere mouthfuls, possibly a little too easy to eat but that’s ok, you can make the batter and keep it for a couple of days in the fridge to use at a later date.

Makes 48.

Ingredients

2 eggs

150mls sunflower oil

350mls milk

350g tapioca or arrowroot flour

140g Cheddar cheese, grated

1 teaspoon salt

a pinch of cayenne powder

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Centigrade.

Grease two mini muffin trays, to give you 48 puffs.

In a food processor, process all of the ingredients.

Pour the batter into the prepared tins, fill to around two thirds.

Bake for 15-18mins, keep an eye on them, they like to burn.

Remove when pale gold, remove from the tin and allow to cool a little on a wire rack.

Serve warm.

35 thoughts on “Cheesy Puffs”

  1. is that 350g of EITHER tapioca OR arrowroot flour, or is tapioca arrowroot flour some weird thing I need to hunt down here in ‘Mer’ca?

      1. well, they’re sort of the same thing. Both are basically “starch in a big root bag”, but tapioca is usually Cassava, and arrowroot is primarily Kudzu (yes, that horrid plant here in the south). It’s cheaper in the long run to buy tapioca flour.

      2. Thanks so much platefodder, I had no idea they were different! I buy my tapioca flour in Asian shops here in Oz and it originates in Thailand! Now I know what exactly what I’m buying! Thanks again! πŸ™‚ Ros

  2. Hi there – Firstly, thank you so much for the like on my blog πŸ™‚
    Now to the actual post…these cheesy puffs seem very simple to make and look delicious to eat – looking forward to trying them! Have you made them with any other g/f flours?
    x

    1. Hi Fx, to be honest I have only ever used tapioca flour for these, if I was guessing, the next alternative would be sticky rice flour, also known as glutinous rice flour. It is still gluten free! hoe that helps. πŸ™‚ Ros

      1. Thanks for the response Ros. I’m going to try making them using my usual g/f flour blend (rice, potato, tapioca, maize & buckwheat). I’ll probably be doing it this weekend…will let you know how it works out πŸ™‚
        x

      2. Hi Ros, I tried this recipe using the flour mix I mentioned previously and also added some chives that were lurking in the fridge – they came out fabulous! I have linked to you from the post about it on my blog. Thank you so much for posting the recipe!
        x

    1. Hi Feast Wisely, I think buckwheat might be too strong a flavour, I think sticky rice flour, also known as glutinous rice flour might be an alternative but I have always used tapioca, sorry I can’t be more help! πŸ™‚ Ros

      1. I don’t have gluten issues but I actually made a chickpea flour (besan) pasta one day as an experiment. It was OK, but I’m glad I don’t have to eat gluten-free on a regular basis. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

