Chocolate Cake with Black Beans

image

Super moist and very moreish, this cake is a cunningly disguised gluten free cake using black beans to help it hold it’s shape!

I buy black beans dry and normally cook around 500g at a time which means I always have cooked beans in the fridge. Super for all Mexican food, they also lend themselves to GF baking, however, I tend to only use them in chocolate based baking, otherwise the boys would spot the skins!

I don’t ice our every day cakes and this one certainly doesn’t need to be iced so I just sieve a little icing sugar over the top.

If you wanted to serve this as a gluten free dessert or pudding, serve warm with some cream poured over the top or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Ingredients

150g caster sugar

150g butter, at room temperature

3 eggs, beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

200g cooked black beans

30g cocoa

100g tapioca, arrowroot, flour

100g glutinous, sticky, rice flour

1 tablespoon gluten free baking powder

100g milk chocolate, broken into squares

1 tablespoon icing sugar, sieved over the top of the cooled cake

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Centigrade.

Grease and line the base of a 20cm cake tin.

Using a food processor, cream the sugar and butter until pale.

Add the eggs a little at a time with the motor running.

Add the vanilla, beans, cocoa, flours, baking powder and chocolate.

Process until the chocolate has been chopped finely.

Spoon into the prepared tin and bake for 40-45 mins.

Allow to cool in the tin for 10 mins before removing the tin and baking parchment and cooling completely on a wire rack.

 

36 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake with Black Beans”

  1. Black beans! Very interesting ingredient in a cake. I’ve seen it used in one of my cookbooks too. Maybe I can really get away feeding this to the little people. It certainly looks delicious.

    1. Hi Astrid, my 10year old makes this cake, he delights in having friends over and making them guess what the secret ingredient is! Once they guess I then have a household of boys cracking jokes about breaking wind!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ros

  2. Oh I really want to try this but I have no idea about the black beans! So if I buy the beans, just cook it with water? Sorry, so basic question… ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Hi zbethz, depending on where you live you can buy pre cooked beans in cans/tins. To cook dried black beans, soak overnight in water, lots of water! Drain and pop them in a pan, fill the pan right up with water, bring to the boil and simmer for 60-90 mins until cooked. Hope that helps. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ros

  3. I wasn’t the only one who baked black beans with chocolate! Instead, I baked my daily bread and put black beans and chocolate for a twist. The beans were precooked in the rice cooker. Even my 3 old girl loved it! Next time, I’ll try your cake recipe. I’m sure it’ll make my girl smile ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

