Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

image

This recipe evolved from the amazing stock that comes from the bones of my Roast Chicken with Coconut, Garlic and Chilli.

Once we have had the roast chicken, I strip the meat off and then boil the bones and any pan juice in around 1.5litres of water. The stock that you get is fantastic especially for an Asian inspired soup like this. If you are using regular stock maybe add a little minced garlic.

I use rice noodles and Tamari to maintain a gluten free soup. I don’t pre cook the pak choy leaves, once the soup has been stirred in the bowl they will wilt a little, I do cook the larger stems a little but they still have a great crunch to them.

Serves 6.

Ingredients

1.4l chicken stock

400mls coconut milk

2 teaspoons Tamari or gluten free soy sauce

1 teaspoon fish sauce

1 lime

375g rice noodles

350g pak choy, stalks and leaves separated

3 spring onions, trimmed and finely sliced

small bunch fresh coriander, roughly torn

1 red chilli, deseeded, halved lengthwise and sliced finely

300g cooked chicken

Method

In a large pan bring the stock, coconut milk, Tamari, fish sauce, zest and juice of the lime and half the chilli up to a gentle simmer.

While that’s happening, cook the noodles as per instructions.

Add the pak choy stems to the broth and simmer for 1 minute.

Spoon noodles into pre warmed bowls.

Top with pak choy leaves, coriander, spring onion and chicken.

Spoon over the broth and sprinkle with a little chilli.

 

20 thoughts on “Asian Chicken Noodle Soup”

    1. Hi elenisempanadas, my mum always boiled the roast chicken bones so I have just copied her, different styles of roast chicken give different flavour to the stock which then determines what kind of soup! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ros

      1. I’m definitely going to try that the next time I make an Asian soup. I spent some time in Japan and can never forget the intense flavour of the broth for ramen or udon. I bet they boil the roasted chicken or pork bones. I’m assuming you used the bones from your Asian style roasting chicken I saw on your blog. I’m wondering is short ribs would be good too?

      2. Hi Elenisempanadas, I did use the bones from my Roast chicken with coconut, garlic and chilli recipe.
        An easy chicken stock is just roasting 1kg wings with onion and garlic and then boiling the bones for stock.
        For beef stock I get bones from the butcher, cut into manageable sizes and roast them with onion, carrot, celery, garlic and seasoning. I then boil them for the most amazing stock, I can drink the stock on its own!
        Hope that helps, ๐Ÿ™‚ Ros.

    1. Thanks tastetingle, whenever we have a roast I strip the bones and have the pressure cooker by my side ready to boil them, my boys know never to throw their bones away until we have checked if I need them for stock! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ros

Leave a Reply

