Sunshine Salad

image

This salad evolved from trying to get the boys to eat more veggies, to begin with they were allowed to choose one item not to eat in the salad, fortunately now they eat it all!

Serves 6 as a side dish.

Ingredients

1/2 a head iceberg lettuce

large handful baby spinach leaves

1 carrot, peeled and grated or finely julienned

4 large tomatoes, cut into wedges

3 large mushrooms, finely sliced

1 Lebanese cucumber, finely sliced

1/2 head of broccoli, broken into florets and blanched

2 avocados, sliced

2 nectarines, sliced

3 hard boiled eggs, quartered

Dressing

2 tablespoon sour cream

2 tablespoons mayonnaise

1/2 lime, juiced

salt and pepper

Method

I layer the salad in the order of the ingredients.

Mix the dressing ingredients.

Spoon some dressing over the salad and serve the remainder on the side.

27 thoughts on “Sunshine Salad”

  1. I’ll bet this is refreshing! The down side to teaching the kids to eat the good stuff is that…well…they eat the good stuff! I used to joke that I was gonna teach our son to dislike artichokes and avocados (my favorites!) but in the end I did the right thing. He of course, loves them too. πŸ™‚

  2. This looks so delicious! I understand the pain of trying to get boys to eat veges! I do something similar with a few less ingredients but add smoked chicken breast or thinly sliced beef on top. It seems the boy in my house will eat greens when there is meat on top.

  3. Very sunshiny! I could actually make this with nectarines from the tree at the moment, but unfortunately I’m not quite at the stage of having the kids eat all the other ingredients…

Leave a Reply

