Chilli and Lime Prawns

image

Fresh and zingy best describes these prawns!

The chillis are from the garden, from memory they are a Diablo chilli, so small with a medium heat, feel free to use any chilli and adjust the heat level to suit your taste.

I would usually leave the tails on the prawns but we have Grandpa staying with us at the moment and he doesn’t “do” shells so I have peeled them completely.

Serves 4-6.

Ingredients

1kg prawns, peeled and deveined

1 tablespoon olive oil

juice of two limes

4 cloves garlic, sliced

3 small chillies

small bunch fresh coriander

salt and pepper

Method

Marinade the prawns in the oil, lime juice, garlic, chilli, 2/3 of the coriander and a little salt and pepper for 15mins.

Heat a large frying pan over hot heat until very hot or use the BBQ hot plate.

Once the pan is hot add the prawns and stir fry for 2 mins until cooked.

Serve garnished with the remaining coriander.

14 thoughts on “Chilli and Lime Prawns”

  1. I am looking at your blog as you liked a recipe on mine. I really like your recipes and as a Mother of a 12 year old boy (and girl) I will be looking again. Your recipes look tasty and mainly healthy which I need as I am dieting! I also like the face you live in Perth. I met my husband and one of my best friends there in 1989 as I lived there for about 18 months. It is a beautiful spot!

  2. Great summer dish Ros. Thanks for sharing. Was thinking of you today and your comment re cherries being a short season for you. I inadvertently ate 1/2 kg of them today. Bought locally at our fruit shop, they were the size of small eggs and delicious! I had intended to use them for decoration on a pav! Ha! Best laid plans……..

  3. This looks scrumptious, and I still have a whole load of chillies left from my harvest last year – they are mostly a type called Alberto’s Rotoco and have a lovely slow burn heat without being too sharp. This looks like a great recipe for them – I’m looking forward to making it at the weekend.

Leave a Reply

