Baked Ham with Peaches

image

This is our traditional New Years Day dinner.

Peaches are always in season at this time of year in Australia and I love the baked sweetness with the saltiness of the ham. Tinned peaches work too, just rinse off any sugar syrup before popping them next to the ham.

Simple to prepare, easy to carve and loads of leftovers!

This ham will last a month in the fridge on the bone in a clean pillow case  soaked in vinegar and water. I always cut some cubed ham and freeze it for pies and quick pasta sauces, I mince some ham too to add to sausage meat and to dry fry and sprinkle over salads instead of bacon.

Once we have finished I take the bone back down to my wonderful butcher and he cuts it into smaller pieces for me to boil and make stock with.

Serves 12 plus lots of leftovers.

Ingredients

8kg leg of ham, skin on

60g brown sugar

10-20g whole cloves

8 peaches, halved and stoned

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Centigrade.

Take the ham and gently tease the skin away from the fat, you want all of the fat on the meat to remain. Sometimes I use kitchen scissors to cut of the skin in smaller pieces to make it more manageable.

Leave the skin on around the hock to protect this thinner area.

Take a sharp knife and score the fat, first in one direction and then in another to form a diamond pattern.

Place the ham in your roasting tin and rub all over with the brown sugar.

Mark the tips of the diamonds with cloves and use more or less as desired.

Roast in the oven for 90mins, basting as you go.

After 90mins, add the peaches around the base of the ham, ideally in any pan juices.

Return to the oven and roast for a further 30mins.

Remove from the oven and allow to sit, this year ours sat for an hour while I cooked the side dishes and it was still warm and juicy for serving.

To carve cut a large wedge, 3-5cm wide across the width of the leg, set aside. Use the open cut to then carve slices.

12 thoughts on “Baked Ham with Peaches”

    1. I have the BEST butcher in Perth I think Nicola! A few years ago I was chatting to him about nearly finishing our New Years ham and the fact I couldn’t boil the bone as it didn’t fit in my pressure cooker, he suggested bringing it in to be cut and since then I have always done it. Mind you, I look a bit dodgy carrying a pillowcase with a large bone in it! 🙂 Ros

      1. I’m yet to find a great butcher in newcastle. We’re thinking of going the 1/4 of a cow direct from the farm option instead. Can’t get much fresher.

Leave a Reply

