Christmas Mincemeat – Fruit Mince

image

Middle son lifted the pan lid once this was made, cooled and the brandy added and assured me it definitely smelt of Christmas, always a good sign!

Traditionally made for filling mince pies, it’s also fantastic in cakes, scrolls and even apple crumble.

I use suet, from the butcher, as the shop bought version has gluten in it, however, for vegetarian options or non Coeliacs this is fine. I also don’t add nuts to my mincemeat, just one less allergy to worry a bought!

Makes 12 jars.

Ingredients

500g suet

300g currants

500g raisins

600g sultanas

200g mixed peel

4 oranges, zest and juice

2 lemons, zest and juice

5 large cooking or dark green apples, cored, chopped into a very fine dice, skin included

20g mixed spice

2 teaspoons cinnamon

a really good grating of nutmeg

600g brown sugar

180mls brandy

Method

In a very large bowl, combine all of the ingredients except the brandy. Leave to soak for 12 hours.

Preheat the oven to 120 degrees Centigrade.

Pour the fruit mix into a large oven proof pan and slide into the oven.

Bake for three hours, by which time the suet will have all melted and be coating the fruit.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely.

Once cold, stir through the brandy and spoon into sterilised jars. Seal and label.

The mincemeat will keep for a year.

10 thoughts on “Christmas Mincemeat – Fruit Mince”

  1. Do you suppose you can you make this in a crock pot? So you make a fruit cake out of this huh? I Might like a pie better. : )

    1. Hi Lorraine. The idea of heating it gently in the oven is to melt the suet and blend the flavours so if you can have a crock pot on very low I think that it would work. The mincemeat then goes into mince pies or I use it to make a super quick fruit cake. I’ll post the recipe later this week. Ros

    1. I hope your husband enjoys your mince pies! I’m making mine this weekend, using the boys, one on bases, one on filling and one on lids! I can remember making them with my mum and sister. The house will smell divine! Ros

  2. Hi there, I’m very curious about your jar storage/preservation methods of this particular item. I’m currently writing a comprehensive canning post of all I’ve done through the year with water bath canning, freezing, drying, and mincemeat not one I’ve tried. How does it ‘keep’ for the year? Much obliged, Georgina @ Soul & Stomach

    1. Hi Georgina, the trick is the brandy. I sterilise the jars by baking them in the oven 100 degrees Centigrade for 10mins and sterilise the lids by pouring boiling water over them in a large bowl.
      As the brandy doesn’t get stirred through until the mincemeat is cold, it helps preserve the mincemeat.
      It actually lasts longer than a year but begins to lose its flavour I think.
      It doesn’t last a year in my house!
      🙂 Ros

Leave a Reply

