Tortilla with Red Onion, White Beans and Thyme

image

There is something very comforting about this tortilla, gentle flavours and aromas with the comfort of eggs and beans?

Who knows, just trust me, it is lovely and even the fussiest member of the family eats it with no complaints and he doesn’t eat eggs!

As the tortilla comes out from under the grill it will be all puffed up like a soufflé, unfortunately, it doesn’t stay puffed up but still tastes great.

Serves 4.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 red onion, peeled, halved and sliced thinly

1 clove garlic, chopped finely

2 small sprigs of thyme, leaves picked

1x400g tin cannellini beans, drained and washed

6 large eggs

60 mls milk

50g fresh goats cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Method

Heat a 24cm non stick frying pan, with a heatproof handle,  over a medium to low heat.

Add the oil and once hot add the onion. Cook the onion until very soft, add the garlic and thyme leaves and cook for 1min until fragrant. Pour in the beans and cook gently for 5 mins.

Beat the eggs, milk, salt and pepper in a jug.

Pour over the beans and let settle over a medium to low heat.

Turn the grill on to medium.

Once the egg looks as if it is bubbling slightly underneath, top with the crumbled cheese and slide the pan under the grill.

Grill until puffed up and golden.

Slide gently onto a cutting board and cut into wedges.

17 thoughts on “Tortilla with Red Onion, White Beans and Thyme”

      1. Ok, that could do but I think it would not rise as much as it should…was thinking if I could remove the handle from the pan…will try it and see how it goes..;)

  1. Starving, Need this now 🙂 looks delicious, Hope it is ok to ask, but I have been nominated for a UK Blog Award 2015 for my Foodie posts and I am in need of all the votes I can get, only one vote per person, per email address counts and I would be bouncing with joy if i made the next round, but I can only do this with bundles of votes from the public, please have a look at my food posts and if you like them, please cast your vote for me 🙂 http://www.blogawardsuk.co.uk/candidates/claire-with-the-hair-mccarthy/

  2. looks great Ros, I hadn’t thought of putting beans in a tortilla/fritatta but that would be very tasty. With grilling the top, I usually use a solid cast iron pan, but if I’m using one with a wooden handle, I just wrap the handle with foil before putting under the grill…

Leave a Reply

