Quesadillas with Avocado, Edamame and Jalapeño

image

I recently found a new brand of soft gluten free wraps and thought I might try them as a quesadilla instead of using my regular corn tortillas.

The boys call this a green quesadilla, it is rather green but utterly delicious and filling! I certainly don’t miss the meat in it but if you want maybe a little leftover chicken would work well.

I love edamame, fresh soya beans, I tend to buy them in their pods in the freezer section of our local Asian food shop, they are easy to cook from frozen and any leftovers can be used here or in salads or just to nibble on.

They are also a fab veg for in the school lunch boxes, still in their pods, the boys love them!

Ingredients

2 gluten free or regular tortilla wraps

6 tablespoons defried beans

1/2 cup cooked edamame

1 avocado, sliced

handful of fresh coriander

a few pickled jalapeño chillies, I like quite a lot!

50g grated cheese

Method

Warm a large frying pan over medium heat.

Spread each wrap with a layer of beans.

Top one wrap with all of the avocado, edamame, coriander, jalapeño and chilli.

Sprinkle with cheese and pop the other wrap, bean side down, on top.

Slide onto the pan and cook for 3-4 mins, flip over and repeat.

Slide onto a plate, cut into wedges and serve with a wedge of lime.

 

8 thoughts on “Quesadillas with Avocado, Edamame and Jalapeño”

  1. Perfection in a wrap!. A delicious combination of fresh flavours. I would love to tuck this quesadilla into my picnic basket. Autumn is now with us so we grab these sunny days we are given to enjoy the day and a picnic lunch. Virginia

  2. This looks amazing!!! I would have to substitute the edamame. I can’t eat soy beans. I love avocados in quesadillas.

Leave a Reply

