Easy Chicken Satay

image

Having lived in Indonesia for 6 years we all developed a taste for chicken satay.  Since then, I now have to make it gluten free so I use Tamari sauce or gluten free soy sauce.

As with any food served on sticks, the boys love it and could probably eat their body weight in satay if given the chance!

I serve this with a satay sauce, recipe to follow on the blog, again, not traditional but, quick, easy and very tasty. Other than that, some boiled rice and you have dinner.

Serves 4-6 depending on appetites.

Ingredients

1kg chicken breast, cut into 2cm cubes

2 tablespoons honey

125mls Tamari, gluten free or regular soy sauce

90 mls sesame oil

2 tablespoons ground coriander

1/2-1 teaspoon chilli powder

2 teaspoons ground turmeric

2 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed

35-40g fresh ginger, peeled and grated

Method

In a large bowl combine all of the ingredients, except chicken. Mix well.

Add chicken, mix well and set aside to marinade for 1-2hours.

Take 16 wooden skewers and soak in water for at least 30mins.

Heat a frying pan or BBQ to hot.

Take a skewer and slide on a handful of chicken, repeat with the remaining skewers.

Place in the frying pan or on the BBQ and cook, turning regularly until cooked through, around 10mins.

Serve hot or warm with satay sauce and rice.

 

15 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Satay”

  1. love your blog and this recipe! I am doing a blog with dairy-free, egg-free, soya-free recipes and was wondering if I could direct folks who need gluten free recipes to your blog. I have people asking me about gluten free and yeast free recipes – I have no experience in this area. Maybe if I do a links page – would you be up for that?
    cheers! Rai

    1. Hi Rai. Thanks for reading my little blog!!!
      You are more than welcome to direct folk over to it, not all of my cooking is gluten free but I try to have alternatives for gluten free options as that’s what I eat!
      Thanks again, Ros.

  2. Chicken satay is an easy crowd pleaser but did you try chicken liver satay while you were in Indonesia? They seem to do it really well. I’ve never visited Indonesia before but had an Indonesian friend once who always made chicken liver satay.

Leave a Reply

