Lemon Curd

image

The lemon tree is full of fruit this year so it’s time to make lemon curd.

This is one of the easiest preserves to make and the curd doesn’t just belong on toast! Stir it into basic muffins, use in lemon meringue pie and top fairy cakes with it.

I don’t strain my curd, it’s laziness on my part, I really don’t mind a bit of lemon zest, in fact, I reckon it gives it more of a home made taste.

This is gluten free, because we use no thickeners, Mother Nature does it for us!

I triple this recipe, it doesn’t last long with my boys! Triple quantities makes four jars as photographed.

I do sterilise the jars and lids and this will allow the curd to then keep for at least two months in the fridge. You can use unsterilised jars, the curd will last 3 weeks in the fridge.

To sterilise my jars I preheat the oven to 100 degrees Centigrade and boil the kettle.

Pop the jars in the oven for 10mins, place the lids in a heat proof bowl and pour the freshly boiled water over.

When ready to use, remove the lids with tongs, do not touch the inside of the lid.

Ingredients

2 lemons

85g butter

225g sugar

3 eggs, beaten

Method

Grate the zest from the lemons, only the yellow zest, the white pith will make your curd bitter.

Juice the lemons.

In a heavy based pan combine the zest, juice, butter, sugar and eggs.

Over a low heat warm the curd mixture, I use  a whisk to mix constantly but a wooden spoon works just as well.

Whisk until the curd has thickened, it will coat the back of a spoon.

Pour very carefully into the sterilised jars and seal with the lids.

Allow to cool completely before storing in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

